% His Mind or Mine? %

After years of struggling and fighting to be baptized in the Holy Spirit and speak in tongues (our heavenly language), it finally happened for me on November 13, 2000.  I would get very frustrated because the Bible speaks of it quite a bit (Acts 2:4, Acts 10:46,1Cor. 10:12, 14:6&18) but it was just not happening for me. The older believers would always say to me “don’t worry about it.  It will happen when you least expect it“.  Oh it was absolutely grand and majestic; when it did happen, a wonderful experience indeed.  My friend Christine and I went to a fasting service at another branch of our church and the Pastor who was there was one of my favourites because he always has a dynamic way of inviting the presence of God and speaking the word of God with power and precision.  I remember about mid-way the day my entire body began to shake profusely. I was so scared.  I had no idea what was happening to me and I really wanted to talk to somebody about it but who?  Oh man I was really fearful. I wanted to tell Christine because I knew she would know just the right thing to say but she had disappeared and I was with some other church buddies and I did not want them to think I was wiered so I just kept quiet and prayed in my heart.  I later realized that it was the anointing which was so heavy on me but at that time I was totally unaware of what was transpiring. 

When the evening session of the service began the manifest presence of God was so strong that I began to now vibrate.  My entire body was vibrating out of control and I got even more scared.  At about midway the service while the pastor was preaching the presence of God saturated the building and many of my friends were shouting and jumping and running and praising God (many at the top of their lungs) when suddenly it began to happen to me too. Uncontrollably I was jumping and shouting and praising God. “This is not me, what is happening to me?” I was thinking.   I wanted to stop but when I saw that I could not, I realized wow, this is not my doing at all.  When this unknown language began to be evident inside me, instantly a war began in my mind.  I could not believe it. An intense fight commenced inside me because I could hear it and immediately I recognized that I did not know this language that was rising up on my inside (and I studied languages).  I could feel it in my belly and hear it in my head.  I literally knew what the Bible meant when it says: “…out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water”. (John 7:38)

The Holy Spirit said “speak” and I said “No”.  He said again “Speak” and I said “Nope” and the third time He said “Speak what you are feeling and hearing” and I said “No I will not.  It sounds like gibberish and foolishness and I will not speak it!” (How disobedient and rebellious!)  Well I cannot tell you how it happened except while I was still jumping and shouting I opened my mouth to say ‘hallelujah’ and these words that I did not know just erupted from within me loud and clear.  Then after they did, I did not want them to stop.  It was really magnificent.  It felt like they brought some kind of fire and power with them that just rested on me.  (marvellous).

The next day the Holy Spirit told me “now you have the mind of Christ”.  I did not understand what it means to have the mind of Christ, nor did I even know there was a scripture in the Bible that  speaks of such but there is and God wants us all to have the mind of Christ so can think like him.

“Who has known the mind of the Lord so that he can teach him?” However, we have the mind of Christ”.                                  (1 Corinthians 2:16 )

When we speak of “having the mind of Christ” what do we mean? Well it refers to the capability of knowing what Christ is thinking as it is revealed to us by the Holy Spirit.  It essentially means the ability to think as Christ would think in our everyday  situations. It goes beyond this even further to the ability to receive teachings about His word and then be able to convey or teach his teachings to others.

Through the power and will of the Holy Spirit we are able to feel the way Christ feels, think the way He thinks and behave the way He would behave or would desire us to behave.  All this is made possible through the indwelling of His Spirit as He lives in us and through us.  He decides when to “let us in on” what Jesus is thinking.  He allows us to know the secrets of God (Psalms 25:14).  When we receive revelations about our future, our destiny and purpose that is the Holy Spirit allowing us just a glimpse of the plans that God has for us therefore revealing the mind of Christ concerning our lives.

Sure you do not have to speak in unknown languages to have have the mind of Christ.  As soon as we give our lives totally to him, receive Him as Lord and Saviour we are one with Him and therefore we begin to develop the mind of Christ!  Undesrtanding this then, we should therefore strive to keep our minds on “…whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report…” (Philippians 4:8) so eventually we can all have the mind of Christ.

Excerpt from “Destined for Greatness” by yours truly.

Copyright © 2010

2 thoughts on “% His Mind or Mine? %

What do you think?

