Who Are You Rolling With?

One’s environment can truly make or break an individual if we allow it to do so. I know about having to be an environment that can break someone big time.  I used to attend a High School that was quite discriminatory and prejudice at that time and continuously I would have to work triple hard to prove myself worthy of being there.  I was found in the bottom of the class system while attending that school. You either had to be fair in complexion, brilliant and rich or fair in complexion with an empty head but rich.  If you were dark any at all you had to be dark, brilliant and rich or even dark empty headed and rich.  There was no room for simply dark and brilliant (like myself). 

It was very hard spending four of the most important teen years of my life there.  Not easy at all.  My mom (who tried above her best at times) could not afford to give me the luxuries and opulence that other teenagers had at this school and majority of the times I felt really left out but tried not to complain.  In my home town I was comfortable but there I was in the lows. Worst of all my boldness and outspoken abilities added tremendously to this dilemma also.   Due to the fact that I am an only child, I was always in the company of adults and so persons were always telling me that I sound much bigger than my actual size and older than my actual age.  Trust me, in my high school days this was not very appealing to the others my own age. They would sometimes used my boldness for their own advantage in the class which would at times get me into trouble and after all of that they would still did not make me apart of their group- I just did not belong.  (Heart rendering)  When I finally gained what I called a friend in my 10th grade year she was a little well-off herself so she rarely could understand how I was feeling inside.  I talked with many persons but I truly did not have any real friends.  I had many persons who I thought were my friends but I understood the true meaning of friendship when I divinely connected with Christine in 2000. She is the first true friend I ever had. (Yaay God – high five)

You know what I love about God though, he cares not a hoot about where you are from or your social status.  All he looks for is a heart that is ready and willing to be used by Him. This is what the Bible says: “Don’t judge by …appearance… The Lord doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”- 1 Samuel 16:7  NLT   This is like Esther.  She was a little orphan girl, impoverished and was way down in the class system but yet she was God’s chosen to be queen and save an entire nation from genocide. It does not matter who you are, where you are from or what you have done.  God’s love and care supercedes all of those issues.  Just as long as you love God with all your heart, soul and mind then you qualify.  See if you truly love God then you will obey Him to the best of your ability and that is when he will reveal himself to you.   He said it with his own mouth: “Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them”. – John 14:21 NLT  (ohhh that’s completely awesome!)  You may repent and turn away from your rebellious, sinful acts – this qualifies you for salvation but to get the heart of God you must submit yourself to him – totally.   Believe me it’s way better to roll with the Holy Spirit than anyone else. So here is what I want to know “Who are you rolling with?”

copyyright © 2010.

What do you think?

