*Do-Dup, Do-Dup*

I love playing with my son.  It gives me great pleasure to just hear him  laugh and giggle and squirm and the whole nine yards.  [love it]  I would do anything to just see his face light up the room with his brilliant, radiating, heart-melting smile. [its to die for]  However, as much as I love that, I am completely inlove with what his daddy does with him that gets him to smile.  My husband makes the most goofy faces and the most ridicuous sounds to get our son to laugh.  How it just warms our hearts to see his gums exposed because of his sparkling smile. The one thing though that completely bowls me over is watching as my husband’s big, strong, manly, muscular arms encircle our son when he is whinning, fussy and cranky until he eventually falls asleep.  It is breathtaking to behold.  Sometimes when NJ is truly cranky for one reason or another [teething, griping, sleepy] and my husband has him, he comforts him by singing a song to him and cradling him. It is just awe-inspiring.  It makes me fall inove with him all over again as if we were just married. 

When I looked keenly into it, I realize it is a pure example of our heavenly Father.  When life gets to us and we are down and out Jesus does the same to us.  When we are griping for one reason or another He sings songs over us “…With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.” Zephaniah 3:17 NLT.  He comforts us “…for you {Jesus} are close beside {me}, Your rod and your staff  protect and comfort me”. Ps. 23:4 NLT.  He wraps us, cradles us and says to us when we are overcome with loneliness, depression, weakness, intimidation, hurts and fears: “Don’t be afraid, because I am with you. Don’t be intimidated; I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will support you with my victorious right hand”. Isaiah 41:10 – GWB.  When we are cranky, he wants us to come to him, come into his presence so he can give us joy, ” You make the path of life known to me. In your presence there is complete joy”.  Acts 2:28 – GWB.

I have seen it repeatedly, that in those times no matter how NJ is miserable and screaming at the top of his lungs, his father has the ability to soothe him to sleep. The situation may still be present, but his father calms and consoles him even for a little while.  Today that is what Jesus is saying he wants to do for you. 

In Mark 4, the disciples found themselves in a raging storm while they were travelling.  Jesus was asleep so they woke him and verse 39 tells us that “… he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm”.  These disciples were facing a literal storm and Jesus brought great calm to the sea.  Your storm may be financial, political, mental, emotional, spiritual, intellectual, physical or even psychological.  Whatever it is, the Father wants to come today and bring great calm to it by the voice of his word and the intimacy of his presence. Let him place his love and compassion all over you so that you can have peace in your mind and joy in your heart.  He is able and willing.  He wants today to bring you to a place where you can smile again, laugh again and be joyful despite what is happening around you.  Like me and my husband who would do anything to see our precious gem of a son smile, the Father is no different. [That is why he is called FATHER].  Your joy brings Him joy.  He wants to make you smile simply because he is your Father and you are his child.   He wants to play with you, tickle you, gu-gu-gaw-gaw you if that is what it takes to see the earth light up with your smile.  He wants to pleasure you, embrace you, cradle you and just love on you until your very atmosphere becomes electrified with the voltz of his presence.   He wants to hug and hold you so close until both your heart beats are synchronized and unified as one beat. [do-dup, do-dup] Will you let him? Please? I guarantee this, that as sure as after lightning the thunder rolls, your life will never be the same the day you allow his will to be yours and you hear for yourself the marvellous, orchestral sound of your hearts beating as one – do dup, do-dup, do-dup.

copyright  © 2010

What do you think?

