*Today or Tomorrow*

Recently, I had a cut on the insides of my lip. Oh my goodness, it hurts so much.  I could not eat or drink without pain.  The cut was soo small but produced such great agony. It was over bearing. [completely overwhelming].  Constantly I looked on it wondering how such a small, almost unseen thing could cause my entire body to feel so ghastly tormented.   I did all I could to ensure that I did not in the least bit irritate it, so as to not add to my pain.  One evening in the midst of negotiating my toothbrushing technique, the toothbrush slipped and went right onto the cut. [Hallelujah] Oh my Lord.  I had to do everything within my powers to not cry passionately when the surge of pain rocked my body.  After recovering from that incident, my vivacious 5 1/2 month old, on one of his usual rampage was kicking and screaming and his little hand went straight for my lip, hitting me right on my cut [Jesus, Mary and Joseph] It was just terrible. I cannot begin to tell you how I felt when the volt of pain penetrated my being.  Ahh, what torture!

My mouth is all healed now but thinking about my cut got me to realize something quite fascinating.  Many times the little irritations we have in life are so small yet they produce such intense hurt for minutes, hours, days, weeks, months and even years. What becomes frightening about this is how easily people and general everyday circumstances can add to our dilemma and cause us more pain than we could ever imagine or anticipate.  A simple act like brushing my teeth became a living nightmare for me just because of the little, yet deep wound I had in my mouth.  My son, who was just being himself, became a nemesis to me because of the potential that lies within him to add to my drama.

I realize that some of the times people snap at us, hate on us, ridicule and mock us, fight against us and abuse us, they probably were not intending on it. It is just that at the moment they had a hidden parasitic wound that was flaring up on them and they simply did not know how to deal with it.  Their wound [like mine] may be so small and possibly insignificant to us but we may never know how much it may be aching them on the inside. They maybe haunted by a ‘cut’ from: an old boyfriend, a failed exam, a failing business, a missed promotion, an affair, unforgiveness and the list is endless.  It may even be something we have already gone through and overcome but for them, it is the worst thing they have ever undergone and so they feel like they are at their wits end.  Point is: “They hurt you simply because they themselves are hurting”.

It really had upset me when my son’s little hand connected a left hook to my mouth sending me into a frenzy but what was I supposed to do? It was not intentional, he was just being himself. How was he even to know I was in pain? He does not understand. I just tried to deal with it and still love on him even though I was hurting.  Considering this, let me suggest some “deep” advice to you today.  The next time someone slams you down, curse you out, misuse you or abuse you, don’t make an issue out of it.  Remember Jesus is your vindicator.  “Don’t take revenge, dear friends. Instead, let God’s anger take care of it. After all, Scripture says, “I alone have the right to take revenge. I will pay back, says the Lord.” Romans 12:19 – GWB

Look on them with the eyes of your heart instead of the feelings of your soul.  Let God’s love reign over how you respond to them because you really may not know what is happening on their lives.  Their wounds may be small but deep and some have had it for a long, long time and is simply wary of it. They will not always tell you they are hurting as sometimes they do not even know they need healing.  Act in patience and love because you never know when your time will come. I have often said to myself: “I will be their garbage bin to unload their trash, if it will get them to see the Jesus in me”.  So like the clam who makes a pearl from the irritation of one grain of sand, let them know their irritations of today can be become their pearls of tomorrow.

copyright © 2010

2 thoughts on “*Today or Tomorrow*

  1. Hey my friend in Christ! I’ve been lead to watch Benny Hinn’s teachings on the anointing and preparing for ministry and wouldn’t you know that I randomly saw your name and a comment! Go figure lol. So I added you as a youtube friend.

  2. lol. what do you know? smile. sure no prob. i enjoyed watching them. They are very good and helped me a lot. am sure they will help u too in this ur time or preparation.

What do you think?

