*The Best You*

The first time God told me that he was proud of me, I was absolutely amazed.  I could not believe that he would say such a thing when in my head, I was far from being the type of child who could make my heavenly Father proud.  I did not believe that in anyway, I was so pleasing to God because, I was not reading my Bible enough, praying enough, worshiping enough, tithing enough, giving enough …anything enough as a matter of fact.   [It was crazy] How could God be pleased with me?

You know, I asked him such a question and he responded: “I do not see as you see my child. I see your heart and your heart has made me proud of you”. I was pleasantly surprised, quite humbled and felt absolutely loved all at once. [Quite a rush of mixed emotions] I know God says in his word that His thoughts are not our thoughts but I really did not even look on it from that angle.   God was proud of me simply because I am me.  [Thats great]. I did not have to put on an act, aim to do the impossible by works, try to please man, get all religious, or create a faux me…nope.  All I did [and am doing] is be the best me that I can be.  Simple enough I’d say.  Jesus is pretty simple when you examine him, his ways and his requests.  Its us who always complicate things. [tsk, tsk, tsk]

Let me encourage you my friend.  No matter what happens live your life try to –  as Peter says “please God rather than man”. Do your best daily to please Jesus with your lifestyle and God will pour out his best on you.  I saw a personal status message somewhere that I will borrow and re-modify a bit.  “As much as it may suck to be you sometimes, its much better to be you than anyone else”. God made us all individually unique and special and so all he asks is that you portray his workmanship by being the best you that you can be.  Seriously, thats not too much to ask –  is it?

Psalms 139:14 –  “Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.” (NLT)

copyright © 2010

2 thoughts on “*The Best You*

What do you think?

