*Where we Belong*

I remember a few years ago when I disappointed God sooooo badly by sinning against him that I thought he had totally forsaken me because I could no longer feel his presence nor hear his voice.  The enemy started to lie to me and I listened so much that I ultimately started to believe them.  At the time, I did not even remember the scripture where Jesus calls him the father of lies (John 8:44).   Things got so messed up in my head that I heard the audible voice of the devil for the first time in my life when he said “why don’t you just kill yourself?  Don’t you see everybody has forsaken you.  No one loves you any more…not your family, not your church – not even God.  Don’t you see you can’t feel him because he has forsaken you.  He has left you because He is mad at you and no one loves you.  You are all alone.  If you kill yoursef, surely some people will mourn like your mother who by the way is so disappointed and angry at you but they will get over it.  They will bury you and life will be better for you.  You will be going to a better place and everyone will have relief over the heartbreak that you have caused them by your actions.  So just do it. Go ahead and  kill yourself”.

I must stress that at the time he was tempting me with suicide, I was at a place where I could easily jump off the building.  There was also rope readily available if I wanted to hang myself instead.   Anyway, I do not know where the scripture came from, however, from the depths of my belly I heard these words uncontrollably gush from me  “I SHALL NOT DIE BUT LIVE AND DECLARE THE WORKS OF THE LORD”.  I was so surprised.  I began to weep and wail because I realized in that instant, my spirit had taken control of my flesh and Jesus saved my life right then and there. It was not true that God had forsaken me.  I had repented [a multitude of times] but my guilt was dominating me so much that it began to take the place of where God should be, therefore it was blocking the voice, person and presence of God from flowing into me.

Have you realized that whenever, we fail God in one way or another, that is the time we choose to cop out of a life?  We tend to hide from God in shame and disgrace because we feel that God is so mad at us that he does not want to be with us anymore.  The bible however has indicated the antithesis of this statement.  When Adam and Eve sinned in the garden and they began to hide from God, the Bible gives us no indication that God did the same.  As a matter of fact, we see where God came looking for them although He knew what they had done.  God even went on to show his other side of creativity by clothing them in a designer wear to cover their nakedness.  This is the same thing he does to us spiritually with his love whenever we fail him and penitently return to him.

Contrary to our fleshy, humanistic, emotional view that God is mad at us and doesn’t want anything to do with us when we sin is not true in the least bit.  Surely he is disappointed.  Surely he is hurt.  Surely he is heartbroken but rather than wanting to have nothing to do with us when we are lawless in his sight, {sin is lawlessness}, He wants us to run to Him, ask for forgiveness so he can show us the depths of his love by restoring us to himself.

The worst thing we can ever do is hide away.  When we go into reclusion, we allow many openings for the enemy to twist and turn our thoughts further away from the Father until eventually our emotions and actions follow suit.  Honestly, what kind of compassionate Father doesn’t want their child to come and tell what wrong they have done, say they are sorry and promise to try their endeavour best to not commit the same wrong again?  God is a loving, gracious Father and only wants what is best for his children.  Sometimes we will fail him but he is faithful and fair.  He will forgive and take us into his arms once again – after all, that is where we belong.

Psalms 103:13 – GOD’S WORD
As a father has compassion for his children, so the LORD has compassion for those who fear him.

1 John 1:9 – GOD’S WORD
God is faithful and reliable. If we confess our sins, he forgives them and cleanses us from everything we’ve done wrong.

copyright © 2010

2 thoughts on “*Where we Belong*

  1. I have been through and i really and truly know how it feels. It is a really bad feeling. I jus cud not hear God,s voice until wen somebody jus spoke 2 me all i cud do is cry bcuz God wuz always there but i jus cud not feel Him and i thought He wuz stil mad at me. But GOD is truly a COMPASSIONATE Father.

What do you think?

