Mask of Christ

Today I feel so sad.  I am not sad because of any personal issues or stuff like that.  I am totally sad because I realise people really don’t care for their fellow human beings as they ought to and its real heart-breaking. My ministry Divine Restoration Ministry http://www.divinerestorationmin.org/  has embarked on an adventure to supply two separate children’s homes this month with supplies of food, clothing, cosmetics and stuff like that.  Its an adventure we really want to undertake for our Child’s Month Outreach in this month of May.

Fascinatingly, many of the persons we have asked for donations of whatever they have, no matter how small or the type, cause us to feel like we have to be kissing up to them to help the less fortunate.  I watch some of these same persons well-dressed and well-put together seemingly pay so much attention to anything that relates to their immediate gratification  and they refuse to even have a sympathetic heart for the impoverished and unfortunate.  I am glad there has never been any kind of indiscretion of any sort in our ministry for people to say “we can’t give our money and stuff here because of ….”  We are totally free of that therefore it cannot be that their reluctance or refusal stems from any supported case of indiscretion.

I imagine what it would be like to be orphaned in these homes and it breaks my heart to know that people really only care for themselves and their families and to H#@L with every one else.  It makes me cry.  Honestly. Some of the children in these homes have little or nothing and survive on donations from other ministries, churches, organizations including the government.  Where is the true representation of our Jesus’ love when we operate in this manner? Jesus has such a heart for the poor.  Everywhere in scriptures He consistently tells us to care for the orphans and widows. He says He will be a Father to them and preserve them [Jer. 49:11]   When I ponder how selfish the religious society  can be it makes me wonder what kind of heart we really have and how can the love of Jesus turn all the stony hearts to fleshy hearts. [Long Sigh – SMH]

Many Christians love to criticize non-Christians about their lifestyles but I have found that even in my everyday interactions that the non-Christians are many times more willing to give of themselves, time, money and other resources to help those who are in need than those of us who profess Christianity and parade our humongous crosses around our necks.  No wonder some of them are blessed and some in the church are poor, broken, busted, disgusted and depressed.  God increases and blesses the giver – Saved or Unsaved.  If you sow, you shall reap! Its a Law that cannot be broken – like the law of Gravity.

Seriously, who are we trying to con? Must be ourselves.  We can fool people for only so long.  One day our charades will stop and people will see the true us emerging and they will know all along we had a mask of Christ but never knew Him at all.  It’s time for us to STOP IT.  For the love of JESUS and all that He has done for us – LET US STOP IT! Take the Mask off.  Will the real Child of God Please Stand Up?

One thought on “Mask of Christ

  1. Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against wanting to have more and more things. Life is not made up of how much a person has.” Then Jesus told them a story. He said, “A certain rich man’s land produced a good crop. He thought to himself, ‘What should I do? I don’t have any place to store my crops.’ “Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my storerooms and build bigger ones. I will store all my grain and my other things in them. I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of good things stored away for many years. Take life easy. Eat, drink and have a good time.”‘ “But God said to him, ‘You foolish man! This very night I will take your life away from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ “That is how it will be for anyone who stores things away for himself but is not rich in God’s eyes.”
    (Luk 12:15-21 NIrV)

What do you think?

