The Friend Search [Part 2]

So yesterday I told you how God gave me my first true friend. Today I want to continue to show you that your obedience to Jesus’ instructions can really produce a lifetime blessing.

Upon attaining my first real job I decided to go back to school.  I have always been interested and fascinated with Psychology.  So I checked out various schools and realized I would need to work a little longer to save more money before I could go.  While conversing with a minister, he informed me of a bible college that did psychology for much cheaper than the schools I had checked out previously.  I investigated and saw that they did, so I enrolled there.  Soon after, I realized that they only did an introduction to Psychology.  I was heart broken and decided to leave.  The Lord impressed upon me to stay but I did not want to at all.  The more I decided to leave is the more the Lord told me to stay.  

Albeit, I continued mainly because I didn’t want to waste all the money I had spent.  In my class there was an older lady who was always in controversy with me for one thing or another.  I seriously couldn’t stand her. She aggravated me greatly and we would always be debating stuff even when it was not necessary. *sigh*  To forward the story, I later switched jobs and was managing a medical facility.  It was a super job with lots of benefits. By this time I  had graduated from the college and so I decided to go and do Psychology at one of the previous schools I had checked out 3 years earlier. I had saved enough money and felt I was ready.  Out of the blues I felt like the Lord said quit my job and continue the education I began at this school but in the boarding location.  I thought God was crazy.  “Quit My Job?????”  WHAT???  No way!  No Way at all!!!  I ignored the Lord and applied and got through to the school of my dreams and was about to pay tuition when in a divine moment, Jesus allowed me to feel His heart and it was broken at my disobedience. *Whew!*  It was one of the worst, frighting, unnerving feelings ever.  I began to cry, I wept bitterly. I didn’t know how it would work.  I had enough money for two semesters but what about the other and then the other year? Without my job how I would I finish? Being a newly wed I didn’t know how my husband would respond to such a sacrifice.  So many questions without answers.  Nonetheless, with many tears and uncertainty, I spoke with my husband and explained everything and he was delighted to help and said he would finance the rest.  Everything supernaturally fell in place – acceptance to the school, boarding, transportation – everything.  it was amazing!

Arriving at the school the most horrifying discovery was made.  The same lady from the previous school was there and worst on my dorm just 2 doors away from me. *Oh My God*  I was upset!  How could God do this to me?  I stormed out of the dorm to find a secluded spot to quarrel on God. I whined and yapped and complained.  After I got exhausted from all that quarreling, I figured maybe she’s not in my classes so it might not be too bad. Think again!  She was in all but 2 of my classes. [Could it get any worst]   I tried unsuccessfully to avoid her for the first week then I went back to God.  In the middle of  my expostulation and yammering, the Lord interjected “You will need to pray constantly here.  Establish a daily diet of worship and prayer in the chapel and both of you will do it together”.  *Jaw drop and eyes wide open* “WHAT??  GOD, ME AND LOIS? YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!” I blurted in protest.

By this time, I had grown enough in God to know when He speaks its final.  I cried a little and told Him, if He wants that He’ll have to make it happen because I am NOT approaching her.  On my way to the chapel that night to pray to my surprise she was sitting there and she spoke to me.  We engaged in small talk but prayed in separate locations in the chapel.  The second night it happened again and the third.  *Smile*  Should I say more?  Before long we were praying together.  She became my second true friend and we still are friends today.  She caused me to survive and thrive in college.  Despite our age difference together we were inseparable. We still quarrel plenty but now they end in laughter rather than abhorrence.  She later told me that same day God spoke to me He also spoke to her and told her that I would be her friend and she should pray daily in the chapel with me. *Amazing*  She wasn’t as defiant as me but was apprehensive because of our history.   Doesn’t God have a sense of humor? 

God answered the prayer of my heart for true friends.  It took a while but He did.  It took my obedience to His word against my own will.  I remind you yet again: don’t reject anyone because a person’s thorns may be just what you need to unveil your own rose that is hidden inside of you.

9 thoughts on “The Friend Search [Part 2]

    1. Well my love… do they love you just for you? would they “go to jail” with you and laugh about it while you’re there? Do they appreciate all your flaws and help you with ur insecurities? Do they know ur darkest secrets but love u just the same? Do they help u grow in God? Do they push u along in ur purpose? Do they elevate you above themselves? these are some of the questions u can answer to help figure it out.

  1. This word from Jeremiah reminds me of youJeremiah 1:18-19 NKJV

    For behold, I have made you this day A fortified city and an iron pillar, And bronze walls against the whole land— Against the kings of Judah, Against its princes, Against its priests, And against the people of the land. They will fight against you, But they shall not prevail against you. For I am with you,” says the Lord, “to deliver you.”. The Lord can take and mold your tenacity for His Glory.

    1. smile. that’s great to know. your blog is too a rather interesting one “miss Fab”. Smile. Gr8 having you around here. Thanks for reading. Many blessings

What do you think?

