Over and Over Again!

A God given Institutionimage by google
A God given Institution
image by google

I have the sweetest husband on the planet. Honestly, no offense to all the other sweet wonderful  men of God out there, but mine’s the sweetest…dwl.  He is godly, kind, sweet, tender-hearted, a great listener, wonderful conversationalist and loves to surprise me.  He reminds me of God in many ways.

Here is an example: one day after returning from doing some business on the road, he plopped in the couch and asked me for something to drink. I got it and returned to what I was doing. Shortly after, he called me a second time asking me for something else from the refrigerator. I got it for him and returned to what I was doing. A third time he called me for something else and by this third holler for me, I was getting pretty annoyed because I am thinking he could’ve just told me from beginning to get all three things instead of calling me several times and I was busy doing something else.  [Aggravated much…] Without saying a word but grumbling in my thoughts, I went for what he asked for and made a spectacular discovery – STRAWBERRY CHEESECAKE ICECREAM!

Strawberry cheesecake icecream [Eddy’s brand] is my favorite and for days I had been lamenting how much I felt for ice cream but this brand is kind of difficult to obtain. I can’t imagine what he went through to get it for me.  Yay!  I was so surprised and overwhelmed with gratitude that he got it for me, that all my annoyance dissipated and disappeared instantly. Apparently from the first time He asked for something to drink, he wanted me to see it but because I was so busy doing the other thing I wanted to return to, I didn’t have time to see the wonderful surprise that was right in front of me. So he kept sending me back for more stuff until my aggravation caused my attention to shift and then I was able to see that right in front of me was what I had been asking for all this time. [Super] Isn’t that just like God? Sometimes, He has to shift our attention (by whatever means necessary) to get us to notice what’s right in front of us. Our own affairs distract us so often that God has to allow us to do the same things over and over and over again until we get it right or notice His blessings standing right before our very eyes.  Many times, the very thing we’re asking for is right there in our foreground but we are unable to see, discover or appreciate it because we are preoccupied with our things.

My friend, if today you find yourself stagnant, in a rut doing the same things over and over and over, ask yourself  “Lord, what am I missing, what am I not seeing? What am I not learning?”  Then take sometime to relax and focus, you might just realize that the very thing you’ve been asking for and needing from God has been right there in front of you all along.

5 thoughts on “Over and Over Again!

  1. This reminds me of a story I heard a long time ago. I heard this man talk about trying to do what he thought was his ministry but he kept getting interrupted. These “interruptions” kept on happening until he came to realize that the interruptions were his ministry. It too was right in front of him all along.

What do you think?

