No more Hamburgers

I sat down murmuring recently that “I have nothing to eat” and how much “the house is so empty”.  So I went into the kitchen and began looking around for the hundredth time as if I never just went in and looked two minutes prior. I walked out and went into my bedroom muttering the same two lines.  In the midst of my so called dilemma, it occurred to me I do have something to eat. As a matter of fact I have enough to cause a dead man come to life with excitement.

Then it hit me, its not that I had nothing to eat, its just that my appetite appealed to what I didn’t have in my kitchen. Yes I had a bit, but nothing I truly felt for in that moment.  It was nothing that appealed to my need.  It was nothing that excited me. It was not even stuff that my nutritional needs required in that moment. Truth be told, most of what was there was just stuff I needed to survive but not necessarily thrive.

Then my mind reflected on the church.  I believe this is what happens at times.  The church sometimes lack that which the people need so they go else where looking to find it.   They leave saying there’s nothing in the church, church is boring, church has no appeal and so they go to everywhere that is counterfeit because the real thing is veiled, watered-down, hidden, selective, arrogant, dry, deaf, dead, depressed and even dreaded.  I am not speaking here of putting people on an emotional hype in order to appeal to them – I’m speaking of presenting the authenticity of the gospel – that good news that is the power of God unto salvation.

This may not always cause excitement and allure but the true gospel which is not just word but power manifested will always provide the spiritual nutritional needs of the individual.  This will build muscles of faith; abs of patience and long suffering; reduces cholesterol of greed, malice and unforgiveness. Carves excess fat which causes laziness, apathy, religiosity; gives you heart health – purity and increase mental focus – renewed mind and faith.

Think about it, when was the last time you saw the gospel in its truest purest form? Word and Power! We are suffering greatly in some circles from spiritual indigestion.  So much Junk – junk food at its best. The spiritual fast food is fastly ruining us! I’m instigating a protect.  Here’s my picket sign – NO MORE HAMBURGERS!

So many chefs (leaders) that are unhealthy (greedy, adulterers, lacking integrity)  are preparing similar food (Word) for the hungry. It hurts my heart.  We need good food so we can grow up healthy and strong in the Lord and the power of His might. Give us some fruits and veggies in eye catching format.  

image by: http://www.neila.com.au

Leaders, please force feed us the healthy stuff – love, giving, kind words, prophesy, healing, integrity,  service, patience, worship, power…the whole works – in season and out of season, whether we like it or want it. It’s what’s real – we need it! We need to have it.  It’s what Jesus did!  He only prepared healthy foods for the hungry whether they liked, wanted, or appreciated it.  He knew what was best and as His followers we should follow Him likewise.

6 thoughts on “No more Hamburgers

  1. Be ready to spread the word whether or not the time is right. Point out errors, warn people, and encourage them. Be very patient when you teach. A time will come when people will not listen to accurate teachings. Instead, they will follow their own desires and surround themselves with teachers who tell them what they want to hear. People will refuse to listen to the truth and turn to myths.
    (2Ti 4:2-4)

What do you think?

